My IR Camera History Part 6 (1 Left)


Olympus PEN  E-P1  720nm Infrared Conversion

Olympus PEN E-P1

Without a doubt, the Olympus Pen family, E-P1, E-P2 & the new E-PL1 are the best Infrared camera systems that I have ever used.

Olympus E-P1 Sensor with IS System

These new Olympus bodies beat the Canon 5D for Infrared hands down!  Light, compact and easy to use with advanced camera features like Aperture Priority, Shutter Priority, Manual Mode, RAW and a good selection of lenses make this camera a joy to use.  After an EXTENDED stay in intensive care (35 days) and 2 further weeks in in patient rehab, I was unable to even hold my 1DMK3 body for color work.  I purchased a E-P1 and several lenses just so that I could take some pictures during another 6 months of recovery time.  Simply put, I fell in love with this system for color work! After I was able to start using the Canon again I decided to have the Olympus converted to IR at 720nm by Spencers Camera.  There had only been 1 other conversion on this camera done anywhere in the world and I was nervous about how mine would turn out.  From my intro you know that I need not have worried.  This has become the BEST IR investment I have ever made!

Olympus E-P1, 720nm, "Brookgreen Reflection Pond"

The images generated are stunning, sharp and detailed. The large 12 mega pixel sensor is great and usable up to ISO 800 without noticeable noise. There are a lot of accessories made by 3rd party companies including Arco Swill L Brackets by Really Right Stuff.  The camera has the  Retro look and feel of an older rangefinder which I find very appealing!  So once again we bid a find good by to the Canon G10 and move forward with this incredible system!

As you can see, it generates very sharp images with great contrast in both Black and White and Faux Color.  It comes with its own Olympus Raw converter, but Photoshop CS4 & CS5 both include it in their ACR system.  More importantly,  Capture One Version 5 also accepts its Raw files as well!

E-P1, 720nm, Faux Process “Pawleys Island Shelf Cloud”

Coming next:  Olympus E-PL1 Full Spectrum Conversion!

Leave a Reply

