Faux (Goldie) Processing, Introduction to Post Processing (Part 4)



DETAILED FAUX COLOR PROCESSING WORK FLOW

During the time of slaves and war, we here in the great south had miles upon miles of fresh water rice ponds which were connected to brackish water tidal sources like rivers, streams and bays. Depending upon the tide, time and current there was fresh water flowing. They devised a valve system manually operated to only allow the fresh water to flow into the rice fields. This device was called a Carolina Trunk! This is an example (re-creation) of one.

The image was taken with an Olympus E-PL1 PEN full spectrum converted camera, an Olympus 14-150 m 4/3 lens with a B+W 090 590nm filter (Goldie) around 8am this morning.

Now, I did a little something different with this image, I attempted to frame the Trunk between the 2 background piers and I took the Trunk and the foreground rocks and converted them (in Viveza) to HIGH CONTRAST B&W in order to give the image some depth to draw the viewer into it.

I have to admit that I REALLY LIKE the E-PL1/14-150mm m 4/3 combination. It makes for a great carry around system that is functional in all color modes (UV/Normal Color/Infrared) with just a simple lens filter change!

I am giving you both the Faux and B&W versions to look at but specifically wanted you to take a close look at the Faux image.
DETAILED FAUX COLOR WORK FLOW
  • Taking the picture I adjusted the exposure compensation to -.7ev to keep the red channel under control and not blow out the sky.  I also set the White balance using a BRNO neutral WB lens cap.
  • After moving the image to the computer via Downloader PRO (see recent post) and RAW processing with  Capture One V5 where I added a little contrast and clarity, I opened the image in CS5.
  • I cropped for my master library size (8.5×12.5) and ran the Khromagery Faux Color Action (down load on the right).  In the Master Color Channel I simply increased the Saturation which brought out the blue sky & water and the yellow plants.  I then choose the Cyan and Red channel adjustments and made sure to adjust the HUE to where I liked it.
  • The ABOVE Cyan adjustment is important, I hate sky’s and water looking blue-green, so I always adjust the Cyan HUE to go to normal blue!
  • I then flattened the Adjustment Layers.
  • Next I ran NIK Software’s Viveza (a Photoshop plug in) and simply made point selections of the color I wished to modify, ran up the structure to bring out detail and adjusted the brightness.  I did this to all of the color areas I needed to like the water surface, the yellow plants and the blue sky. I also selected the warm colored wood of the Trunk and the rocks in the foreground and removed color saturation forcing them to be B&W!
  • Again flatten the image.
  • Save as a PSD file

"Carolina Trunk" Oly E-PL1 w/ 14-150mm Lens & 590nm Filter

That is all there is to it.  All in all about 3 min from start to finish!

B&W PROCESSING STEPS
  • For the B&W image I took the finished Faux Color image and in Photoshop CS5 ran the NIK Software Silver EFX Pro filter.
  • Choose the High Structure recipe and reduced the contrast and structure by about 10%
  • Flattened the Adjustment Layers
  • Set the MODE to Grey scale with layer flattening.
  • Saved as a PSD files and changed the file name to reflect the fact that it is a B&W image.

"B&W Carolina Trunk" Oly E-PL1 w/ 14-150mm Lens & 590nm Filter

That is it, another 30 seconds from start to finish!  This work flow is so easy that it is almost criminal!  I suggest that if you are interested in this that you do 2 things:
  1. Download the Faux Color Action from the menu on the right side of this screen.
  2. Visit the NIK Software web site and watch the video tutorials on the Viveza and Silver EFX plug ins.  I warn you, have some tissue on hand, it is that exciting!
Thanks for taking the time to read this work flow post!
8 comments on “Faux (Goldie) Processing, Introduction to Post Processing (Part 4)

    • If the camera has it, I would shoot in RAW and set -1ev to keep from blowing out the reds. Then in capture one, adjust the white balance manually. Once in Photoshop run the channel action (download here) and adjust colors in Viveza. You might consider the workshop this weekend where we will be going over everything infrared!

  1. Hello,

    These are amazing photo’s. Where can a purchase a B+W 090 590nm filter? I like the golden color of the plants vs the bright white color I get from using my 720nm filter.

    Thank you for any information you can provide.

    Frederick

    • They are on amazon.com for about $30.00. What type of camera are you using! If a normal visable light color system, you will have a small exposure problem because the 590nm filter will allow more visable reds at normal exposure levels in but the hot mirror will still require longer exposure for the IR frequencies! This would be a good experiment!

Leave a Reply

