Computer Wish List (Dear Santa)


What I Want/NEED For Image Post Processing!

OK, in the last post I told you about what I use for my post processing.  Now I will tell you what I want!

I no longer use a desktop computer system because of the design of my house.  It has a loft upstairs where I used to do all of my work.  Now, due to medical conditions I stay away from steps…..bummer!  So I converted to a laptop.  It goes where I go.  It travels with me to the gallery but is equally at home on the kitchen table.  It has (this newest one) a small 15″ screen that is a pain to use.  When at the gallery I have an additional 22″ LCD monitor that I plug in for a 2 screen system which is just perfect for photo editing.  But at home I just don’t have room for a 2nd monitor and my wife would kill me if I put one on our table!  So this has got me thinking about a new system for next year…

I want it to be a laptop with good battery life but again, it needs to be small so that I can carry it around without killing myself.  Here is a list of what I want:

  • 15 or 16 inch LED screen with a high gloss finish, at least 1280×1024.
  • 4 high speed Intel processors with 4 meg of cache memory.
  • 16 to 32 gig of high speed RAM.
  • 1 Tera byte of hard drive.
  • 500 gig of solid state hard drive for the OS to reside on.
  • 4 USB ports.
  • Wireless N.
  • Hard wire Ethernet port.
  • HDMI output.
  • High Res VGA output.
  • 4 hour battery life.
  • Windows 7   64bit OS.
  • Light weight.
  • 1 year unconditional warranty.
  • Under $1000.

Given the current state of the computer world (especially desktops) I do not think that I am asking too much do you? Has anyone seen this monster out there yet?  Please let me know.  Oh… I realize that my price request is a little on the impossible side, so I will modify it so that the system can arrive with 4 gig of RAM at that price but I can upgrade it to 32 gig later on!  Come on, give me a hand with this!

As far as software goes, I really wouldn’t change anything from my last post with the exception of adding the complete One One Software plug in package.  I also use the Capture One Version 5 Pro RAW converter which I forgot to mention in the last post!

Wait a moment…. This is an Infrared Photography BLOG, we need a picture here to finish off this post!

Magnolia Beach Hotel, Pawleys Island, SC 590nm Faux Goldie Processing, Softened for Mood!

3 comments on “Computer Wish List (Dear Santa)

  1. Why no Mark, your not asking too much at all! …… Yep, I am in desperate need of another laptop – my screen has gone “hay-wire”. Ditto me in on the Christmas List to Santa

Leave a Reply

