Tipster #1: Light & Transparency


Effect Of Light On Transparency

I know, this is the same exact image that I used in my last posting!  But in my defense, it is a good image that needs to be explored and explained in terms of Infrared!  Thus begins my new series of the Tipster posts!

Look Closely:

 

Ocean Groin, 720nm IR Faux Color, Winter

What you see is a typical Winter scene shot on a 720nm Canon 5d.  The sky was overcast and dark with 3 distinct levels of clouds (even though you can only see the bottom layer here), the ocean was brown/green with very little action. I knew that the rocks would look good and reddish with Faux Processing, but wanted something different with the water.  A long exposure to even out the water would have resulted in a dark ocean surface with little to no detail.  A boring image to be sure.  So I chose a medium shutter speed to slow down the water a little and give some white action on the ocean surface but still allow wave movement that could be captured. Specifically, I was looking for what little light I had to show through the waves to create a splash of blue water!  Knowing that this will happen in Infrared is the tip for today.  For me, the overall image is really improved by the blue areas of water where the light is showing through the water itself! Remember, this only works when the light is going through the water from the back towards the camera! If you look at the clouds you can see an area of really dark sky, this is where the actual sunlight is coming through!

I approached the scene/composition with an idea of what I wanted in my captured image to look like before I ever picked up my camera.  This is where the artistic intent is actually created!  Then, I made it happen with the exposure choices, composition and waiting for the right type of clouds with sun holes and wave structure.  All in all I spent about an hour here to get just the right elements into place before I took my first image.

Keep all of these things in mind and your patience will be rewarded!

Artistic Intent REQUIRES that you decide how you want the image to look prior to taking it and  then to make it happen!

Processing was standard Faux Color Processing:

  1. Size and Crop Image
  2. Run noise reduction with NIK Define 2.0
  3. Run Photoshop Channel Swap Action (Download on right) and adjust for reds and blues within the actions stop points!
  4. Flatten Image.
  5. Run NIK Viveza to clean up desired colors and to add structure (sharpening).
  6. Flatten and Save.

That is all there is to the post processing other than the fact that the image (all of my images) are shot in RAW and require conversion in Capture One V5!

I could have generated a B&W image but remember Artistic Intent!  Here I was designing this image to show the blue splashes of water!!

Go out and create!

One comment on “Tipster #1: Light & Transparency

  1. Howdy! I just discovered your webpage: Tipster #1: Light & Transparency |
    Infrared Atelier’s Infrared Photography Blog when I was searching digg.com. It looks as though someone liked your site so much they decided to bookmark it. I’ll positively be coming here more often.

Leave a Reply

